Saturday, April 25, 2009

Farwell # 17

October 2, 1906
Fulton Journal

Mr. and Mrs. J.D. Farwell, who live on Dr. W.K. Farley's farm in Ustick, are receiving the congratulations of numerous friends, all owing to the arrival of a bouncing baby boy in their home, Friday, September 28. Mr. Farwell was advised to telegraph the news to President Roosevelt as this makes him the father of seventeen children, all living, and twelve of them remain under the parental roof and form a very interesting and unusual scene when they gather at the long dining table to partake of their meals.

T.R. Farwell

September 25, 1906
Fulton Journal

J.D. Farwell was in town Saturday and called at our office and gave us an introduction to his youngest son, who is the latest representative of sixteen children all living, who call Jay "father." This boy is twenty-one months old, twenty-one inches tall and wears trousers with all the grace of a Beau Brummel. He shakes his curly head when he responds to the name of Theodore Roosevelt Farwell, but when you call him "Teddy" he smiles and is Johnny on the spot, bubbling over with rougish fun. He is the littlest big good looking boy of the Farwell family and can wind the old man around his little finger every time he crooks it.

They Voted for Abraham Lincoln

Fulton Journal
February 12, 1909

Many Survivors in Fulton who Supported Lincoln for President.
Today marks the centennial anniversary of the birth of Abraham Lincoln which recalls many reminiscences, especially among the supporters of the great emancipator during his presidential campaigns.
While Fulton has none that claims any relationshuip to the martyred president, yet there are several still living in this city who voted for him when he was elected president.
Among those now residing in Fulton, who were ardent supporters, and voted for Abraham Lincoln for the highest office in the nation are--
Dr. C.A. Griswold, E.D. Chapman, John Stuart, G.A. Durkee, J.W. Hurlbut, L.P. Hill, James A. Kyle, J.H. Goble, Dr. S.G. Seeley, George C. Loomis, H.L. Houghton, R.E. Lay, George Hansen, W.P. Culbertson, Milo Jones, J.M. Fay, J.W. Ross, William Cupp, David Baker, John Munneke, George C. Bugbee, H. Worthington, H. Pease, Hoken Hanson, L.N. Reed, G. Utz, P.C. Coster.
Those who were residents of Fulton at that time were Dr. Griswold, and Messrs. Culbertson, Stuart, Jones, Chapman and Munneke.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Departed: Bradstreet Robinson

Fulton Journal
March 1, 1889

Bradstreet Robinson was born in Somerset county, Maine, January 1, 1812. He died in this city, February 26 (1889) of paralysis. He left Maine at the age of seventeen years and went to Ohio. In 1833 he came to Illinois. He built the first house in Mt. Carroll and also built the mill in that city. He came to Fulton in 1854 and was for a time in the lumber business, but afterward built and managed the hotel, the Robinson House, till in 1884. He was married at Mt. Carroll in 1846 to Miss Elizabeth Murford. He leaves a widow, one son and two daughters, grown to manhood and womanhood. The obsequies were held at the late residence of the deceased at 1:30 o'clock this afternoon. Rev. Cass Davis, pastor of the M.E. church in this city, officiated. The burial was performed by the relatives and near friends at 5 o'clock this afternoon.
Bradstreet Robinson was a plain, frank, conscientious man. He lived a temperate, moral and an honest life. He possessed a strong will and untiring energy. What he believed to be right he advocated boldly. What he advocated he practiced. He was among the first to advocate the abolition of slavery and always advocated temperance, total abstinence of the use of tobacco in any form or intoxicants as a beverage. He professed religion, but was not bound by the creed of any church. The orthodox religion, as interpreted by some, was too narrow for him. He believed that every man should work out his own salvation. He gave the subject of religion a great amount of study and thought. By honesty, economy and energy he accumulated more than a competency. He died loved most by those who knew him best, admired by many, respected by all.

TRAMPS

Fulton Journal
April 30, 1889

For several weeks tramps have had their rendezvous alongside the C.& N.W. track south of this city. The camp was about forty rods outside the city limits and the tramps knew it. They grew more bold and insolent each day. They were prowling around in Claus Bush's kitchen during the night time. They slept in John W. Munneke's barn and started a fire in his barn. They bought numerous kegs of beer and gallons of whisky and put themselves outside the same with great expedition. They became so bad that John W. Munneke came to town and swore out a warrant charging them with vagrancy. The city marshal organized a posse comitatus and,aided by Deputy Sheriff Fay and Constables J.W. Farley and Hervey Smith went to the camp of the tramps and arrested seventeen of them. Four others were arrested in the city. They were tried before George Terwilliger, justice of the peace, and eighteen of them convicted. One was sentenced to pay a fine of $20 or be imprisoned in the county jail five days; six to pay a fine of $30 or be imprisoned thirty days; eleven to pay a fine of $50 or be imprisoned fifty days. C.W. Knapp conducted the prosecution in an able manner. George E. Duis, of Dixon, who is attending the college and will graduate in June, defended one of the tramps, Frank Wilson, the one who received the lightest sentence. The tramps were taken to the county jail Tuesday. They were a bad crowd. There were half a dozen razors and more knives found concealed on their persons. Sheriff Keefer does not like such prisoners. He keeps the jail clean and free from vermin and this class of prisoners makes him and his assistants a great deal of extra work.

Monday, February 9, 2009

Show Girls

Fulton Journal
December 6,1912

SHOW GIRLS IN SALOONS
Invade Fulton and Step up to Bar and Call for War Medicine

There was a show troupe that plays "The Sweetest Girl from Paris" that included twenty or more chorus girls that got off a train in Fulton Wednesday and when they got up town they boldly entered the saloons and going up to the bar made a noise just like a man and then called for "war medicine." They did not seek entrance by any side door or ask to be directed to a wine room, but went brazenly in by the front door and drank beer, etc., just like veteran booze fighters.
It was a thing to be condemned, as there is something very demoralizing connected with women being allowed to enter saloons. There should be an ordinance prohibiting women frequenting saloons under a penalty of having the saloon's license revoked. The spectacle of a lot of silly chorus girls half drunk entering saloons and drinking with men is something rank. Boys and girls on the street watched the performance and it could not but be demoralizing. Such a thing should never be allowed to occur in this town again, as it was an outrage on decency and the proper control of the liquor traffic.

Sunday, January 25, 2009

History of Spring Valley Church


By Audrey Kooi

100 Years at Spring Valley Reformed Church Fulton
Near the turn of the century, many families had settled in the Spring Valley area that were of Reformed Church heritage. The nearest Reformed church congregations were located in the Fulton and Morrison area but the distance made regular worship difficult. Travel was by horse and buggy or bobsled and in many cases a round trip took several hours.
In the winter of 1908-1909, a classical missionary, Rev. Peter Braak, was sent into the territory by the Classis of Wisconsin for the purpose of establishing a church. Despite a poor economy, he found a strong desire in the hearts of several families to organize a church. Conducting a house to house canvas he also discovered many Presbyterian families who had a church and parsonage but were unable to support a pastor. Neither group wished to leave its parent denomination so a logical compromise was worked out. The Presbyterians would provide their facilities and the Reformed segment would help support a pastor.
On February 12, 1909 a meeting was called by Rev. Braak for all persons interested in organizing a Ustick Reformed Church. Twenty families appeared who were willing to organize. In March of 1909, the combined Presbyterian and Reformed congregations extended a call to Rev. Zwier Roetman, a graduating student from Western Theological Seminary, to become their joint pastor.
After two years had passed, fifteen more families had been added to the original twenty in the Reformed Church unit. The decision was made to buy two acres of land on which to build a church and parsonage. On November 1, 1911, the new church was formally dedicated to the worship of God and in that year the corporate name was officially declared to be the Spring Valley Reformed Church. Rev. Roetman continued to serve the Reformed congregation as pastor. Today the church is still at the same location 10960 Spring Valley Road.
Over the years the original structure has been added onto, modernized and facilities added to accommodate the churches activities. In 1972 one of the changes made to the property was a large parking lot with an outdoor chapel for drive in worship services. Pastor Ralph VanRheenen held the first outdoor worship and 37 years later it is continuing to bless the congregation and community. Every Sunday night at 7:00 from mid-May to mid-September cars fill the parking lot to enjoy Christian concerts and a Biblical message. They have a slogan “come as you are in the family car.” Last year a prayer garden was added to the outdoor service area, it is open to the public as a place of rest and reflection.
One hundred years later, Spring Valley’s membership has grown to 95 families consisting of 165 confessing members. Pastor Scott Bonestroo serves as the 15th pastor to lead the congregation. The mission statement for this church family: Developing Fully Devoted Followers of Christ. Every Sunday the church holds a traditional service at 9 a.m. that features choir, hymns, liturgy and a Biblical message. At 11:00 a.m. a contemporary service is held, which includes a live worship band with drums, guitars and a keyboard, worship songs sung as you may hear them on Christian radio, skits and a Biblical message. For more information about the church call 815-772-3554 or visit their website www.springvalleychurch.net